University of Belgrade


The University of Belgrade is the oldest and largest university in Serbia. The origin of the University of Belgrade can be tracked down to the beginning of the 19th century, when Dositej Obradović founded the College in 1808.

The University of Belgrade is a state university and its main activities in the fields of higher education and scientific research are activities of public interest.

The University comprises 31 faculties, 11 research institutes, 13 university centers, and the university library. The faculties are organized into 4 groups: social sciences and humanities; medical sciences; natural sciences and mathematics; and technological sciences. Academic studies are organized at four levels: basic academic studies, master studies, specialist and doctoral studies. All study programs at the faculties of the University are in accordance with the principles of the Bologna Declaration. The University has around 75,000 students and over 6,400 members of academic staff.

According to the global ranking carried out by the Shanghai Ranking (ARWU) in the year 2017, the University of Belgrade is amongst the top 300 universities in the world.

This year the University of Belgrade is celebrating its 210th anniversary.

More information about University of Belgrade you can find here:

Comments are closed.